Archaische Glyphen
Vorhergesagte Prophezeiung



Cost: 2. XP: 3.
Test Icons:

Du kannst diese Vorteilskarte deinem Deck nur hinzufügen, indem du Archaische Glyphen (Nicht übersetzt) verbesserst, und nur, falls in deinem Kampagnenlogbuch steht, dass du „die Glyphe übersetzt hast“.

Anwendungen (3 Ladungen).

Gib 1 Ladung aus: Ermitteln. Falls die Probe gelingt, darfst du automatisch einem Gegner entkommen, der mit dir in einen Kampf verwickelt ist. Diese Aktion provoziert keine Gelegenheitsangriffe.

Anna Christenson
Ein Phantom der Wahrheit #193.
Archaische Glyphen
FAQs (taken from the official FAQ or FFG's responses to the official rules question form)
  • NB: ArkhamDB now incorporates errata from the Arkham Horror FAQ in its card text, so the ArkhamDB text and the card image above differ, as the ArkhamDB text has been edited to contain this erratum (updated August 2022): Erratum: The purchase restriction on this card should be replaced with the keyword: "Researched." - FAQ, v.2.0, August 2022

  • Q: As this does not replace the Investigate action, do you still get a clue ? A: Correct, you do.

  • Q: This is not an Evade action, so presumably you're not limited to evading an enemy engaged with you? Similar to Stray Cat and Cheap Shot? Is it valid if Daisy uses Prophecy Foretold to investigate, and evades an enemy engaged with Zoey? A: In this case, the sentence "you may automatically evade an engaged enemy" means that you may automatically evade an enemy that is currently engaged with you—not any enemy engaged with any investigator at any location. Since this text can be potentially confusing, I will make a note to clarify this in the next iteration of the FAQ. SEE BELOW - updated FAQ, v.1.7, March 2020

  • Automatic Success/Failure & Automatic Evasion: Some card effects make an investigator automatically succeed or automatically fail a skill test. If this occurs, depending on the timing of such an effect, certain steps of the skill test may be skipped in their entirety.

    • If it is known that an investigator automatically succeeds or fails at a skill test before Step 3 (“Reveal Chaos Token”) occurs, that step is skipped, along with Step 4. No chaos token(s) are revealed from the chaos bag, and the investigator immediately moves to Step 5. All other steps of the skill test resolve as normal.
    • If a chaos token effect causes an investigator to automatically succeed or fail at a skill test, continue with Steps 3 and 4, as normal.
    • If an ability “automatically evades” 1 or more enemies, this is not the same as automatically succeeding at an evasion attempt. As per the entry on “Evade” in the Rules Reference, if an ability automatically evades 1 or more enemies, no skill test is made for the evasion attempt whatsoever. Consequentially, because no skill test is made, it is not considered a “successful” evasion. The investigator simply follows the steps for evading an enemy (exhausting it and breaking its engagement).
    • For example: Patrice uses the ability on Hope, which reads: “ If Hope is ready, exhaust or discard him: Evade. Attempt to evade with a base value of 5. (If you discarded Hope, this test is automatically successful.)” If Patrice chooses to discard Hope, the skill test automatically succeeds before chaos tokens are revealed; therefore Steps 3 and 4 of the skill test are skipped. However, the skill test still takes place. Cards may still be committed to the test, and the investigator’s total modified skill value is still determined, as it may have some bearing on other card abilities. However, if Patrice instead uses the ability on Stray Cat, which reads: “ Discard Stray Cat: Automatically evade a non-Elite enemy at your location,” no skill test is made whatsoever. - FAQ, v.1.7, March 2020
Last updated

Baffled and disappointed when you saw this card?

Lets put things in perspective:

-This card is an arcane item, it no longer occupies the hand slot.

-This card lets you investigate without provoking attacks of opportunity.

-If you succeed on your investigation check while using this item, an enemy is automatically evaded.


It is really easy to misunderstand the purpose of this card:

-This is not the card that lets you evade with your .

-This is the card that lets you totally ignore an enemy at your location while you investigate.

The scenario you need this card for: You're the clue-hoover, you pick up nearly every clue on the map while somebody else clears the way. An enemy spawns on you, it's some small fry with a half decent fight value and 2-3 hitpoints. What now? The fighter has to come running and deal with it right? Not with this card in play! You can just keep investigating, totally ignoring the threat, and if you happen to succeed in acquiring the clues you're there for (which is highly likely) you'll have evaded the enemy as well! Now if the location hasn't been cleared yet you can keep doing this for a couple more rounds if you need to.


By far the most powerful part is the fact that this card lets you investigate opportunity attack-free. If you find yourself hard pressed by a monster (multiple monsters even) at a difficult and important location (Difficulty 4 or 5), you can use this card to get the breathing room you need to throw multiple attempts at the clues you need to close out the game.

Tsuruki23 · 2446
I think this card lets you evade as an investigate test, but it does not give you any clues on it's test. It's like all those mystic cards, that let you do most stuff with Will instead. So this card is pretty bad because the enemy isn't dead yet. You should rather use the acid strange solution to get rid of enemies. — Django · 4765
@Django: I dunno. I was confused by this at first, but I think the reviewer's take is correct, since the text says neither "Instead of discovering a clue..." nor "Evade. This test uses Intellect instead of Agility." as one would expect it to if it were merely an evasion test using Intellect. I think it does let you investigate for a clue(s) w/o an AoO, then also evade an enemy (though, not all enemies) if the test successful. — Herumen · 1671
In short, Herumen's right. For example, Burgalry has investigation action that cancels clue gathering, but not this card. — KptMarchewa · 1
"Investigate" does not mean "Test Agility". If it was an Evade, it would say "Evade. Instead of testing . — CSerpent · 113
*ugh*, hit enter on accident. Anyway, "Investigate" does not mean "Test Intellect"; it means "Try to get clues". If the action of the card was "Evade", it would say "Evade. Instead of Agility use Intellect". Another way to look at it is: if it was Evade with Intellect, this would be more expensive, harder to get, and in every other way worse than Mind Over Matter. — CSerpent · 113
Since the card says make an investigate test, if you suceed you get all the benefits of having made one. If you used deduction you would get extra clues, etc. It's great action economy; you get two actions worth of effects for the price of one. — Daerthalus · 14
I see, so you get the clue. You get to evade ANY engaged enemy, which does not have to be engaged with you. — Django · 4765
@Django: I‘m don‘t think you can evade an enemy that‘s not engaged with you (except the text explicitely says so). — Astrophil · 1
... or maybe not. You could evade any enemy (it wouldn‘t even have to be at your location?). — Astrophil · 1
I really doubt that designer's intention was that you may evade enemy engaged with another investigator. Probably we should ask Matthew for clarification — Yury1975 · 1
You can only perform evade actions against enemies engaged with you. So, I think you can't use this card to evade an enemy engaged with other investigator. — shinotaku1412 · 1
"Unlike the fight and engage action, an investigator can only perform an evade action against an enemy engaged with him or her." -from the rules page — Ensign53 · 1
It is not performing an evade action, though. — Eruantalon · 101
Indeed, it's not an Evade action - no bold designator - and seems more like Stray Cat - which lets you evade non-engaged enemies. — AndyB · 920
This card is so good. With larger player counts Guiding Stones is probably better, but in solo this would be the one to take. In two player? IDK. It could probably go either way. — Zinjanthropus · 222
Or just play Trish. — MrGoldbee · 1370
Trish is cool but being able to apply a very consistently defend yourself on other investigators has a lot of uses. The main issue with this card isn't how useful it is (It is a lot easier to get out than pendant of the queen, which while it includes teleportation, is much harder to get out than this which can essentially make you perfectly safe for at least 2 turns), but its competition with guiding stones, which provide fairly extreme action compression. Stopping 3 attacks (or more, if you move after this or if the enemy isn't a hunter) for 2 and effectively no actions is no joke, but being able to get double digits worth of clues off one card can make a lot of challenges trivial.. — dezzmont · 198

If this is a prophecy foretold, the prophecy is “the time Rex got two actions at once.” Because tempo is vital in this game, and this costs you two bucks, 3xp, an upgrade, and an action to play… When seekers want to be getting clues all the time. Even the good Archaic glyphs are hard to find a time to put down, and they give you bonus clues. There’s an outside chance that Ursula might want this, but she would want any other version of the glyphs first. And Norman might like these with his low agility, but he can just take cheaper, easier to get mystic spells.

MrGoldbee · 1370
it's actually really good in solo Ursula, fwiw. being able to combine an investigate and an evade into one action (which could be Ursula's bonus action) is huge in solo (and most locations only have one clue anyway). — Zinjanthropus · 222
In solo, could be good. — MrGoldbee · 1370
Norman would like this...except that he can't take it as he's restricted to Seeker 0. — suika · 9018