-
Q: I have a couple related questions about Transfiguration.
- When you use it while you have cards placed facedown beneath your investigator (say as Diana Stanley) and use Transfiguration, what happens to the cards beneath your investigator? If they stay there, are you able to use them if your new investigator front also interacts with cards facedown beneath them? (For example you Transfigure into George Barnaby from Diana Stanley. Can you now commit the facedown cards that were placed beneath you while you were Diana Stanley?)
- Additionally, how does the answer change for Investigators where the cards are not explicitly face down? Say for example you start as Sefina and Transfigure into Amanda? And likewise does the answer change when you go from an investigator with face up cards beneath them to an investigator that interacts with face down cards beneath them, or vice versa? Would you create two separate “stacks” of cards beneath you, one face up and one face down, and you’re only able to interact with the pile that is relevant for your current Investigator front?
-
A: Any cards beneath the original investigator card remain in their same position and state (e.g. faceup/facedown) when Transfiguration treats it as a new investigator card. As long as the new investigator card refers to such cards in the exact same way as the original, then the new one can interact with those cards as well. To be more specific:
- If the Diana Stanley player uses Transfiguration to treat their investigator card as George Barnaby’s, the facedown cards beneath the Diana card are/can be used for George’s abilities, including for checking George’s hand size or committing those cards to skill tests.
- If the Sefina Rosseau player uses Transfiguration to treat their investigator card as Amanda Sharpe, since both investigators place cards faceup beneath themselves, Amanda is able to use those cards for her ability, choosing one of them each time she performs a skill test that round. Note that when Amanda’s first ability discards “the card” beneath her, you should discard “each” card beneath her instead; you should only have multiple cards beneath Amanda for that one round.
- If the Diana player used Transfiguration to treat their investigator card as Amanda, they could not use cards placed facedown beneath their investigator card for Amanda’s abilities, because Amanda does not specifically interact with facedown cards. Similarly, if a player used Transfiguration to treat Sefina as George, the faceup cards beneath their investigator card could not be used for George’s abilities. (Ruling, March 2025) NOTE: Some of this is clarified further with FAQ v2.4, see below.
-
Q: Can I still use my investigator’s signature cards after using Transfiguration to treat the front of my investigator card as if it were a different investigator card? A: Yes. You are considered to be both investigators; the front of your investigator card is treated as the new investigator, but the back is still the old investigator. If you transfigure from Norman Withers into Ursula Downs , you can still play your signature Livre d'Eibon. (Official FAQ v2.4, July 2025)
-
Q: If I use Transfiguration and have cards placed beneath my investigator, what happens to those cards? A: Any cards placed beneath your investigator would remain there after using Transfiguration. If the new investigator card interacts with cards in the same state (faceup/facedown beneath the investigator card), the new investigator can interact with those cards. (Official FAQ v2.4, July 2025)
-
Q: During the Mythos phase, does Gloria choose the Investigator order ahead of all encounter draws, or does she determine which player gets each card right before each card is drawn? This is most relevant for Eye of Ghatanothoa, effectively whether Gloria has to decide the Investigator order based solely on the topmost card of the encounter deck, or whether she can evaluate the best remaining investigator for each encounter card as it’s revealed. A: Gloria Goldberg is able to choose which player gets each card right before the card is drawn. (Ruling, April 2025) NOTE: This is further clarified in FAQ v2.4 below.
-
Q: When Gloria Goldberg chooses the order in which investigators draw from the encounter deck during the mythos phase, are these cards drawn all at once and distributed in the chosen order, or are they drawn and resolved one at a time? A: The encounter cards are drawn and resolved one at a time. By extension, Eye of Ghatanothoa allows you to see each encounter card in turn before distributing these encounter cards. (Official FAQ v2.4, July 2025)
- Q: Can "You've Had Worse" (4) be used on yourself? You are an investigator at your location, but then it’s unclear whether you can yourself up to 5 resources. If so, must you actually have a resource for each point you ignore? Or do you need only one resource that you can give yourself up to 5 times? Or can you use it on yourself with zero resources in your resource pool and still cancel up to 5 damage/horror? A: No; you cannot “give yourself” resources, so you cannot use “You’ve Had Worse….” (4) on yourself. (Ruling, April 2025)
- Q: Can Michael McGlen take Grizzled if he chooses "firearm" as its trait? Can he upgrade Friends in Low Places up to level 5 if he chooses "firearm" as its trait? The Customizable rules imply that the chosen trait is treated as being present in the text box of the card and therefore makes these cards eligible for Michael McGlen’s deck building. A: Michael McGlen can’t take Grizzled in his deck. The traits recorded on Grizzled must be present on at least one encounter card. Michael McGlen can upgrade Friends in Low Places to level 5 if he chooses “Firearm” for its trait. Unlike Grizzled, Friends in Low Places is designed to interact with player cards. And yes, purchased upgrades are considered to be part of the card they’re upgrading; the chosen trait is considered present on Friends in Low Places. (Ruling, April 2025)
- Q: For the newly released Gatling Gun, can you clarify how this works with Daring. Specifically, Daring says it can only be committed in an attack or evade test against "an enemy", but Gatling Gun targets all enemies at your location. I take it as there is an enemy in the wider group, this is okay to commit? As a second question, and assuming Daring is okay to commit, would all enemies in the group gain Retaliate or just one nominated enemy? A: As a Fight action, Gatling Gun’s ability initiates against a single targeted enemy; from there, the ability alters the standard difficulty calculation and damage distribution of the attack. You may commit Daring to Gatling Gun’s Fight ability, and when you do, the single targeted enemy you initiated the attack against is the one to gain the retaliate and alert keywords for the duration of the skill test. (Ruling, April 2025)