Vorteil. Arkan

Talent. Ritual.

Cost: 1.

Mystiker

Anwendungen (6 Opfergaben).

Gib beliebig viele Opfergaben aus: Verhandlung. Wähle eine Zauber- oder Ritual-Ereigniskarte in deinem Ablagestapel und enthülle so viele Marker aus dem Chaosbeutel, wie du Opfergaben ausgegeben hast. Falls mindestens 1 - oder -Marker enthült wird, schicke die gewählte Ereigniskarte auf deine Hand zurück.

Adam S. Doyle
Das Fest von Hemlock Vale (Ermittler-Erweiterung) #91.
Mit den Toten sprechen

FAQs

No faqs yet for this card.

Reviews

This combined with Favor of the Moon seems absolutely nuts. You only ever spend 1 offering and can get back a spell guaranteed every time, until you’ve used up all 3 of your Favor tokens.

The interesting thing is the wording here implies that you wouldn’t be putting the curses back into the token pool, you’d put them back into the bag after revealing them with SttD. Then FotM reads “When you would reveal a chaos token from the bag, exhaust [this]: Resolve a token sealed here instead, as if it were just revealed from the chaos bag.”

Since SttD is only “revealing” the curse token and it is not during a skill test, then the curse token does not trigger an additional draw, and goes back into the bag. So, if I’m understanding this right, it goes like this:

Action, Spend 1 offering: Parley. Choose your spell. Reaction, exhaust FotM: Resolve a sealed curse token instead of a random one from the bag. Return the spell to your hand. Put the formerly-sealed curse token into the bag. Gain 1 resource.

doesn't work. Tokens are only resolved during skill text. SttD only reveals tokens. FotM only resolves tokens. — Adny · 1
to clarify, you cannot trigger FotM, because you cannot resolve any part of it's ability (as tokens can only be resolved as part of a skill test). Presumably, resolving a token still counts it as being revealed, or we have all been playing the covenants/cursed spells wrong. — Adny · 1
As I know, the review works. It's because "resolving token" is not precisely defined in the rule. In the rule reference, only how to resolve during skill test is stated. — elkeinkrad · 473
that's exactly it - since you can only resolve a token as part of a skill test, you cannot use it outside of skill test — Adny · 1
But then you could never successfully activate SttD, since it's never a skill test. For my understanding you can reveal the curse with FotM and resolve SttPs effect. But since it's no skill test you don't draw an other token and put the curse back in the bag not in the pool. — Tharzax · 1
Even that is wrong. The token is only removed from FotM as part of its resolution. There is no mention of unsealing it or anything on FotM, so it would stay sealed. — Adny · 1
I think there isn't anything preventing the use of FotM for SttD, as it says " When you would reveal a chaos token from the chaos bag, exhaust Favor of the Moon: Resolve a token sealed here instead..", and you ARE resolving a token for SttD - you just won't be resolving the Curse token per se, as it is not a skill test, so its effect of being taken back to the pool wouldn't solve. So, would it stay sealed at FotM or would it be sent back to the Chaos Bag? — Gsayer · 1
I don't see any problem using Favor of the Moon with Speak To The Dead. For one thing FotM’s trigger is “when you would reveal a chaos token” and SttD instructs you to reveal tokens, so the language is consistent. FotM also includes the instruction “Resolve a chaos token sealed here instead, as if it were just revealed from the bag,” so the curse token would go back in the bag (which is how we would resolve any curse token drawn from the bag without using FotM). There have sure been some curveball rulings from FFG lately so anything is possible, but based solely on the text of the cards I don't see any problems with this combo. — Pseudo Nymh · 42
I'm fairly confident that it does work. The language on Favor of the Moon is a bit odd when you drill down into it since it replaces a reveal step with a resolve step, which seems to be the root of the objection: "When you **would reveal** a chaos token from the chaos bag, exhaust Favor of the Moon: **Resolve** a token sealed here instead, as if it were just revealed from the chaos bag. Then, gain 1 resource." I think it would be clearer (presuming I'm right) if favor of the moon just said "...treat one of the tokens sealed on this card as the revealed token instead..." as the key text, since it replaces a revealed token with a "revealed" token rather than introducing resolution into the mix. I think that if favor of the moon were intended to only change how things resolve and not work with how things are revealed, then it wouldn't work with cards like Paradoxical Covenant and Armageddon, which I hope we agree is ridiculous since they came out in the same set and from a design perspective seem obviously intended to work together. — Gws · 69