Vorteil. Arcane


Cost: 3. XP: 4.
Test Icons:

Anwendungen (3 Ladungen).

Solange ein Ermittler seinen Zug nimmt, gib 1 Ladung aus: Dein Ort bekommt bis zum Ende dieses Zuges -2 Schleier. (Nur ein Mal pro Zug.)

Antonio José Manzanedo
Die Schwarzen Sterne gehen auf #266.
Arkane Einsicht

This card shares some similarities with Flashlight: It has 3 charges and reduces shroud by 2. However it costs 4 XP, is a free action and can also help other investigators.

It's so much better:

  • Flashlight stacks with this card, which makes it very powerful on Hard and Expert, as you can reduce shroud 4 to 0, for nearly auto success (only auto fail)
  • Any test that is based on shroud benefits here (some enemies depend on local shroud, like spoiler)
  • As a Spell, can be searched with Arcane Initiate (only Daisy Walker at this time)
  • Can be used to trigger Rex Murphys ability more often
  • Can be Recharged

  • Not sure about it, but i think if several players have this card at same location, they can stack it's effect. It think the limit on the card is player specific, otherwise i'd have to be "Group Limit once per turn"
Django · 2537
Akachi and Marie can use it, very good for Akachi. — Kamalisk · 120
and Rex can take Arcane Initiate, though he has less reason to. — Difrakt · 742
Also, Daisy can recharge it via the Book of Shadows (1). That's a tempting looking combo right there. She could become a sort of portable universal flashlight.... — AndyB · 400
Im quite sure it only affect your own turn. Since in the Round Sequence helper card, it says each investigators take a turn. Also this card doesnt say until the end of this phase. — Euruzilys · 10
Disregard my previous comment. Didnt occur to me that multiple investigators can activate their own in the same active investigator turn. This could really help bringing down high shroud location to nothing and quickly drain all clues dry. — Euruzilys · 10
I never noticed this before until now, but the card says "Your location" gets -2 shroud, so the shroud reduction can work to help another investigator by reducing the shroud, but it has to be at your location. I'd previously always read it as "Their location gets..." — slothgodfather · 7
This actually combos pretty well with all xp versions of Archaic Glyphs. That might actually be worth it. Recently I wanted to evade a boss enemy as Ursula, but the shroud was too high for it to be worth using Prophecy Foretold with my extra action. This could have saved me an action in that case. — Zinjanthropus · 10

Posting a clarification ruling here from Matt!


Arcane Horror reads, "[Free Trigger]: While an investigator is taking his or her turn, spend 1 charge: Your location gets -2 shroud until the end of this turn. (Limit once per turn.)" My question is, if I use this effect during my turn, and then I move to a new location, is it the old location or the new location that now has its shroud reduced? That is, does the phrase "your location" mean the location that I was at when I triggered the effect, or is "your location" continually re-evaluated by the game to be whatever location I'm currently at? Does the shroud reduction effect "stay" with the old location where I used the effect, or does the effect "move" with my investigator?


Greetings, Since this is a triggered ability and not a constant effect, “your location” refers to the location you were at when you triggered the ability, and lasts until the end of the turn even if you move away from the location. In other words, if you are at Location A, trigger Arcane Insight, and then move to Location B, Location A keeps its –2 shroud; it does not move with you to Location B.


Matthew Newman

Senior Card Game Developer

Fantasy Flight Games

iceysnowman · 129