Mystiker
Ereignis

Zauber.

Cost: 1. XP: 1.
Test Icons:

Schnell. Spiele diese Karte, nachdem eine Phase begonnen hat.

Wähle einen Nicht-Elite-Gegner an deinem Ort. Behandle das aufgedruckte Textfeld des Gegners bis zum Ende der Phase, als ob es leer wäre (mit Ausnahme von Merkmalen).

Rafał Hrynkiewicz
Grundspiel #68.
Geistesschlag
FAQs (taken from the official FAQ or FFG's responses to the official rules question form)
  • Victory: X is a part of the enemy's printed text box. If you cast Mind Wipe on an enemy with victory points, and defeat that enemy, it will go into the discard pile, not into your victory display.

  • Q: Does Mind Wipe blank the damage and horror icons of an enemy? A: Damage and horror icons are not part of the enemy’s text box, so they are not blanked by Mind Wipe.

  • "As If": Some card effects allow an investigator to resolve an ability or perform an action as if a certain aspect of the game state were altered, using the text “as if…” to indicate the difference. The indicated ability or action is resolved with the altered game state in mind, but the actual game state remains unchanged.

    • This includes all steps of the indicated ability/action, including the paying of its costs, attacks of opportunity (where applicable), and resolving each aspect of its effect.
    • Other card abilities or game effects do not resolve with the altered game state in mind; only the indicated ability/action. - FAQ, v.1.7, March 2020
Last updated
Reviews

With Undimensioned and Unseen, we might have seen the first real target for Mind Wipe. And man is it a big one. Spoilers ahead:

Taking down a Brood of Yog-Sothoth is no easy task. First, you need to find the Esoteric Formula before you can even attack it. Then, you are faced with making a combat check against 6 to damage it - made easier by clues you can put on it, but 6 is nevertheless the highest combat we've seen on an enemy thus far. Even if you succeed, you only deal one damage to it, whereas it has 2-5 health depending on how many investigators you are playing with.

Or, you can skip all that and play Mind Wipe. Better yet, since you are probably playing Agnes Baker anyway and have Forbidden Knowledge, immediately follow up with taking 1 horror using Forbidden Knowledge and kill a house sized invisible monstrosity without breaking a sweat.

Oh, but you don't get its Victory I. But I think that's a fair price to pay for the amount of effort you save.

sgtmook · 974
Actually you cant use the Agnes Ability and deal a damage to the Brood by taking a horror from Forbidden Knowledge as all damages have to result from the Esoteric formula ann not other sources. — Notturno · 32
@Notturno I am sorry, but the part with the formula is blanked! All that is left are the traits "Monster. Abomination." — Synisill · 278
This works, it's true, but it must be said that the Brood is put in the encounter discard if you kill it this way, NOT the Victory display. When you kill it with Mind Wipe, its text box is blank, which also removes the Victory points from the enemy. It won't have victory points again until it hits the discard pile, at which point they won't matter. — SGPrometheus · 207
And actaully, you can kill a Brood of Yog Shothoth with 1 damage on him since the mind wipe wipes the health added by investigator present. — NotSure · 6
Okay, so I had a very interesting thing happen. A Mind-Wiped Brood of Yog-Sothoth — Treadmill · 1
Okay, so I had a very interesting thing happen. A Mind-Wiped Brood of Yog-Sothoth would be much easier to kill, but, would not go into the Victory display. Unless, that is, you have a Yorick in your party with his signature card, Bury Them Deep. Fascinating combo. — Treadmill · 1
  • This card seems really useful in forgotten age, as it removes "Vengeance X" from non-elite Monsters plus some other terrifying effects they have (retaliate, alert,...)

  • However with more players, there's a chance such a card is drawn again after shuffling the encounter deck

  • As a spell, it can also be searched with Arcane Initiate
Django · 2537

This could be a very good card in Dream Eaters with all the "Swarming X" monsters. Getting to 200 characters and think I'm gonna give this a try. Am I at 200 characters now? No? Well if I have xp to spare I'll try the upgraded version too, how's that?

Krysmopompas · 13
If your intent is to target the host enemy with this and cause the swarm cards to be discarded, I regret to inform you that that is not how the interaction plays out. You do blank the host card, but the swarm cards underneath it don't depend on the swarm keyword from the host to exist, so they stay in play. Swarm made them into copies of the host card when it entered play, but now that they're in play they don't care about it. They're not constantly checking to see if the host still has swarm; it's not a state-based effect, they simply are that enemy, or a snapshot of it as it came into play. Would be neat though. — SGPrometheus · 207

Somehow I do not see any scenario with use for this core card unfortunately :( There are always MUCH more better cards for mystic. Do you use this card in your decks? When and for which monsters is it helpful?

Sarseth · 1
I thought this card was pretty versatile. It all depends on the situation you're in. You can stop enemies from advancing doom (for example Silver Twilight Acolyte, Wizard of the Order). You could stop monsters from getting an attack of opportunity (for example Goat Spawn, Mobster, Thrall). Or something not so common, like stopping the Conglomeration of Spheres from eating your melee weapons. — mystery · 1