Lost Soul

Note: There is some disagreement (see comments below)

This is not a review, instead it is for those lost souls who choose to play with Calvin Wright

I couldn't find out how this card interacts with Calvin Wright with a google search so here is my interpretation (this also applies to other investigators)

Using the top part of this card in the example, the skill test timing is broken down to steps. ST.1 is that we determine that this is a [Intellect] skill test ST.5 is when modifiers are added to the investigators base skill value for the test type ([Intellect] in this case), if Calvin has 4 horror on him, then with his ability he will add +4 to a total modifier value of 4. ST.6 is when failure/success is determined. The difficulty of the test is Calvin's [Willpower]. As this is an [Intellect] test, at no point where we instructed to modify Calvin's [Willpower] value, so therefore the test difficulty is 0. As 4>0, Calvin is successful in this test.

This applies to other investigators too. Using Daisy Walker with St. Hubert's Key, Daisy would be testing 6 [Intellect] against 3 [Willpower]. Because the skill test is an [Intellect] test, we add the +1 modifier from St. Hubert's Key, but do not add the +1 Willpower modifier from St. Hubert's Key.

This is not an official interpretation as one doesn't exist yet, I hope this helps!

KakuRainbow

this is completely wrong; I'd suggest you reread the rules entirely because there are many concepts you missed. — jd9000 · 34
This would actually be an interesting ruling, because it would also affect cards like Read The Signs (where you add your willpower for the test - under this ruling you wouldn't get passive willpower bonuses) and cards like Ace of Rods (which gives +2 to multiple skills, but would only modify the ones that are "tested"). I am not sure how I feel about this ruling in terms of how it makes the game play. The way you describe it, it makes mechanical sense, but to me it seems un-intuitive and like a lot of people are likely to get it wrong while playing. — ArkhamInvestigator · 203
From p2 of the rules reference: "Constant abilities are simply stated on a card with no special formatting. Constant abilities are always interacting with the game state as long as the card is in play. (Some constant abilities continuously seek a specific condition, denoted by words such as “during” or “while.” The effects of such abilities are active any time the specified condition is met.) Constant abilities have no point of initiation." That means that Calvin's skills are always the modified values because the ability is always in effect. ST.5 is when you check the value as modified by constant abilities _as well as committed cards and the chaos token_; it isn't intended to imply that ST.5 is the only time at which Calvin's stats are boosted. — johncoxon · 1
This is wrong. For it to test at 0 it would require the words “base intellect/willpower”. This test basically tests equal values eg if Calvin has 3 horror it’s 3v3. — StyxTBeuford · 1064
I'd totally missed the ability section before. It was useful to read. — KakuRainbow · 1
I'm still not sure whether it works the way you've suggested however. And the only solution may be to ask FFG. — KakuRainbow · 1
ST.5 Determine investigator's modified skill value. Start with the base skill (of the skill that matches the type of test that is resolving) of the investigator performing this test, and apply all active modifiers, including the appropriate icons that have been committed to this test, effects of the chaos token(s) revealed, and all active card abilities that are modifying the investigator's skill value. The questions that arise are: What is 'base skill'? This is different to 'base value' in the rules reference Does the last part 'that are modifying the investigator's skill value' refer to just the object before it (active card abilities) or does it refer to all of the objects listed above? Milan Christophers +1 [Intellect] is a constant ability, but is this just saying that it's never not active for [Intellect] tests (as it doesn't have a during/while clause) From my understanding, a +1 [Intellect] is only ever of use during a skill test? I might be wrong, there isn't a card that says 'play only if you have 4 [Intellect] or more'? — KakuRainbow · 1
Armor of Ardennes

After 3 years...

We FINALLY have an investigator who wants this card.

fanfare

Everyone say hello to Sister Mary, our friendly neighbourhood 5 health Guardian! Slam one of these bad boys down, and between your Armor of Ardennes, your whopping 9 Sanity, and whatever other allies or accessories you have, you are not dying any time soon that's for sure.

Soloclue · 1253
Or for the same XP you could buy 2x Brother Xavier and Bulletproof Vest, also True Grit is 0 XP, so... — SergSel · 1
@SergSel None of those cards singlehandedly offer the kind of damage soak you get here or come close to the economy. Even if they did, it's exciting to finally have a character who can reasonably kill monsters that wants and can use this. — SGPrometheus · 204
And then add Well Prepared for the double icon boost. This card still only makes sense in high XP campaigns but I think it can work for Sister Mary. — TWWaterfalls · 418
it makes sense flavorwise as well, because of the Christian motif on the armor. — PowLee · 1
Shining Trapezohedron

Quote from Appendix I: Initiation Sequence: Determine the cost (or costs, if multiple costs are required) to play the card or initiate the ability. If it is established that the cost (taking modifiers into account) can be paid, proceed with the remaining steps of this sequence.

So you must have the ressources to pay the spell, even if you ignore them with this card.

Django · 2530
I'm pretty sure that isn't actually the case - note "taking modifiers into account". It's possible to pay the cost as modified by the Trapezohedron, so you continue. — Thatwasademo · 9
Prepared for the Worst

Commenting because I don't see this point in the other reviews - I believe this there is great synergy between this card and Stick to the Plan SPECIFICALLY when you are also running 3 of Astounding Revelation. You get your first Astounding Revelation when you set up Stick to the Plan before the game even starts. You can have 1 copy of Prepared for the Worst in your deck and attach it to Stick to The Plan. Whenever you need to search for a weapon you have a decent chance of getting your second Astounding Revelation. By playing only one copy Prepared for the Worst and Sticking it to that Plan, you also avoid the dead draw of a PFTW when you don't need more weapons.

If it's your first play of the game you have a 60% chance of finding one of the two Astounding Revelations in your deck of 25 cards.

If it's your first play of the game and you have no weapon in your opening hand, you have the following probability of finding at least one weapon in the 9 card search:

6 in deck: 95.24%

5 in deck: 91.8%

4 in deck: 85.6%

3 in deck: 75.7%

2 in deck: 60%

gamwizrd1 · 2
I can’t say I’m super impressed by the second and third Astounding Revelation in here. What oh don’t account for is the ~30% chance at least one Surprised Rabbi will start in your hand, the guarantee that you will always have one dead copy unless you run more search effects, such as Tetsuo Mori. It also puts pressure on you to use PftW even if you have a weapon in hand at the start just to clear one out of your deck - in which case you’re really only getting 1 free resource from the second AS. Finally, the single Int pitch is pretty bad in most guardians, even the ones who can run it. Starting with 7 resources is generally enough to get a guardian rolling. I think there definitely could be a place for triple AS in Guardian IF they run more consistent deck searching, (run with Mr. Rook soon before he inevitably gets tabood this summer!), but generally I think you still only want one copy, even if you bring the PftW on SttP (which I think is a solid consistency choice in its own. — Death by Chocolate · 13
Tony's .38 Long Colt

So in combination with Bounty Contracts this pretty strong. Use this to either keep topping up your bounties; to give extra actions when you kill lots of relatively basic enemies (even a rat exterminating job isn’t beneath Tony!); or as a stronger weapon against a difficult enemy with up to +3 strength available. With Tony’s 5 strength line, an attack of 8 is a very strong option against even the most advanced elite enemies.

Better yet, with two chances of drawing it from your hand there is a good chance of drawing it near the beginning, giving the option of using your bounties more generously.

Realistically it is unlikely you’ll be in a position to activate that trigger and get two colts out for a single action.

(edit: thanks TheNameWasTaken for spotting that there is no synergy with Sleight of Hand, which doesn’t “play” but “puts into play”, so no trigger to allow both colts out on the cheap)

Regrettably few ammo for what you’ll want to use it for, so it’s a good bet that Contraband, Extra Ammunition (if you are a guardian) and Sleight of Hand will be pretty good options, likely to complement other cards you’ll have in Tony’s deck.

There is no interaction between the Long Colt and Sleight of Hand. Sleight of Hand puts the colt into play rather than playing it, but the colt's reaction triggers on it being played. — TheNameWasTaken · 3
Ooh, well noticed! good rules lawyering. :-) — Phoenixbadger · 22
I’d suggest Swift Reload over either Contraband or Extra Amunition. It’s fast, so I can always fit it in between attacks when needed. — Death by Chocolate · 13