Protective Gear

This goes from required to useless depending on your campaign. In particular, it shines in return to Circle Undone and EOTE.

Supernatural Tempest in Circle Undone can very easily clear your entire play area especially as a guardian. EoTE has several very punishing weather treacheries, particularly in the beginning.

Outside of these scenarios it loses a bit of value. It's still a fairly powerful Tommy card for instance, as long as you bait his weakness on something else (Mr Pawterson, for example) and Tommy has tools to let you do just that (spirit of humanity).

Overall it's a good support card when used appropriately, but its definitely not an auto include.

drjones87 · 213
Tempest refers to your hand too — MrGoldbee · 1520
I'd say I like this in Preston, where the cost isn't as important as the 3/3 soak, that's a lot of soak in just one card, though Edge did come with a fair amount of both healing and soak for survivors. — Zerogrim · 300
Supernatural Tempest

This card is nasty. It's an obvious substitute for crypt chill, but is so much worse.

With crypt chill, you can plan ahead and have a sacrificable asset queued on case you draw it.

Not so here. Being an agility check it's going to be hard enough to pass this, but once you fail you're going to have to discard a high cost asset. And if you only have 0 cost assets up, you're going to lose all of them.

This card is so bad it must be cancelled. Luckily, almost every class has access to some type of cancelation or another. But yea. This is an awful draw and one of the many reasons why return to Circle is so punishing.

drjones87 · 213
I may be misreading this, but it definitely refers to your hand, which means that events with high resource costs can also contribute. This makes this card a little bit better than you're making it out to be. — DjMiniboss · 44
Yeah. Your spare Leo De Luca gets rid of it — MrGoldbee · 1520
This will pretty often just be 'discard two cards from hand'. — Death by Chocolate · 1510
Lucky!

Just wanted to point out something that I didn't see anyone mention in other reviews or comments yet--

The higher bonus of +3 is not merely useful for coming back from harder checks. You can now turn a fail by 1 into a succeed by 2. Rogues and others who care about "succeed by X" take note!

Due to being level 3 there are only a few investigators who would care about this interaction in their own decks--but wait, you can now play this on your friends! If there's at least one deck at your table that wants to oversucceed, consider this upgrade.

I buried it in the review for The 13th Vision, strangely. Anyways there are plenty of Survivor cards that care about you succeeding by 2 -- notably Scavenging and the Sharp Vision suite of skills! — dscarpac · 1321
If you add granny orne, you can turn a fail by 2 into a success by 2 at your location — Django · 5216
"I'm done runnin'!"

I think that my group will change this card to just deal +1 dmg for the remainder of your turn whenever you evade an enemy, and add little clause that your investigator ability is not once per round this turn so you can evade whole turn and deal 2dmg each time. Because this card is soooo bad that it just gets commited, i have never even seen it played which is insane considering how Hoods is one of the worst weaknesses in game. I do wonder who balances these things out, when you look at Stella Clark and see her weakness is nothing, but she also gets 3x Neither Rain nor Snow i wonder what are they thinking

Blood&gore · 462
They are probably also thinking in $$$ and they understand that if they do a weak investigator in a single pack, it won't sell that many copies... Besides that it makes sense, especially to deal with 2-3 small Hunter enemies scattered around the map — Valentin1331 · 88878
The Man in the Pallid Mask

Question (minor SPOILERS): The rules say that after an enemy is defeated, it is "placed in the encounter discard pile (or in its owner’s discard pile if it is a weakness." However, in the first scenario, The Man in the Pallid Mask has no owner, so where does it go the second time it's defeated?

szwanger · 2
Cards with a player card back that aren't owned by any player are removed from the game if they leave play. (the only citation I can find to back this up is the FAQ on Lita Chantler here on ArkhamDB, though) — Thatwasademo · 59
to clarify, I'm pretty sure I remember a general statement to that effect but I can't find it now — Thatwasademo · 59
It's placed by the book bwtn 1 & 2. — MrGoldbee · 1520