Nine of Rods

This card is absolutely sick. This is essentially one chance to re-draw if you get a monster. This is high-grade oil for your action economy. I wouldn't be surprised if this was released as "treachery," though that would make it a much more questionable ask outside certain scenarios.

Put this on a survivor generalist and run with a Seeker rocking Disc of Itzamna. Heck, run Gloria too for additional stupidity. Fourth slot can be Diana Stanley. The encounter deck isn't real and it can't hurt you.

Great protection in general for any investigator with a glaring weakness. Lets your redraw into something that won't be nearly so horrific. For a solid fighter, could also be used to proactively hunt the deck for a monster in the interest of VP-farming or to pull off cards that require monsters.. — Achire · 563
I really like that this is a very generalist-friendly Tarot for Survivors. Calvin loved the Five Of Pentacles, but it was really not worth the space anywhere else. OP's combos for neutralizing the encounter deck are terrific, but even without them, everybody would enjoy getting 1 saving throw vs the encounter deck per round. — HanoverFist · 762
Directive

Does this only count the basic move action, or all card effects with a "Move" effect?

For example, how does this interact with fast actions such as Shortcut? I guess that if Roland is targeted with this card, it would fail if he has already moved twice?

The other query is for vehicle assets (such as those in Innsmouth); Do they count towards the 2 move limit, and if so, what happens if a car or boat wants to leave and Roland is on board?

I assumed originally that all instances of the word "move" on a card are included, but then considered scenario effects when locations are removed from the game and investigators are "moved" to a new location by this effect, and realised that there must be at least "some" exceptions. Where are people drawing the line with this?

I can answer some of these questions. It does include all effects that move you, so shortcut for example would indeed fail to take effect if targeting Roland. As for being moved off of a location because it is leaving the game the faq features a new section which essentially says "if something is about to mean you are at no location, ignore that effect" so if your location is about to disappear from the game, you move from it even if you have this directive. As for vehicle assets, I don't have a good answer for that. I'd have to look again at the vehicle rules in the scenario to be sure. — NarkasisBroon · 13
I'm not sure but that vehicle cannot be moved due to Roland? Here are two rules with cannot: "While an investigator is in a vehicle, that investigator cannot move independently of the vehicle.", " — elkeinkrad · 505
(sorry to splited) "You cannot move". Thus, Roland cannot be moved, and vehicle cannot be moved with Roland. That's my oppinion. — elkeinkrad · 505
Related to this, would Scout Ahead count as one or three moves? It is one movement action to move 3 times. — dkilkay · 4
I guess I'd jusgrade safeguard asap.... those moves happen on another characters turn, sooooo, it's all good. Right? — tasman · 1
"Round", not "Turn." Roland is still stuck. — Lailah · 1
Well Prepared

This card was made for William Yorick with Chainsaw. Absolutely must take if you are playing him. +3 each round is amazing. Worth playing two copies so you can use it for two fights per turn.

Also, sometimes a fighter feels like they have great combat to break down those pesky locked doors (non-fight test), only to find out that it's been their weapon boosting their stat and they aren't really that strong in non-fights. This card does let you knock down those doors with ease.

If you have fighting under control you may have a pip down that you need to help pass a test.

Taevus · 784
Well Prepared is just a great card anytime you have a few double icon assets in play. A triple skill icon is great. I ran Yorick in TFA with Yaotl and 6-7 double combat cards for the exact reason that you mention. Well Prepared is almost universally useful but Yaotl requires pretty specific decks and the ally slot. I would certainly run Well Prepared instead. Or in combo with. — The Lynx · 1005
Bait and Switch

Not as bad as it looks.

Compare to the effect of Mists of R'leh, where you Evade a monster then move to an adjacent space -- except it's the monster that moves. This gets you a neat turn of action compression if you're trying to stay out of the hair of a hunter, and allows you to do things like punt the baddie towards Mark and his Flamethrower.

It's also likely to set you up for a relatively clean turn of investigating the space you are on. Upgrades pretty neatly into Close Call (though, hilariously appropriate for the suit, that card is not quite as good as failing the check with upgraded Dumb Luck).

I agree... the effect is pretty good, but I really wish it gave you at least a +1 boost to your attempt. — Hylianpuffball · 29
Strength in Numbers

EDIT 8/27: Due to a recent card reveal it's looking as though the Synergy trait will appear across all the classes! Updating a few things in my review accordingly.

This card utilizes a heretofore untapped mechanic, which appears to be associated with a brand new trait--"Synergy"--hinting that there may be a whole suite of cards with similar effects. Whether it will be strong enough to warrant a new approach to deckbuilding, if it will be a suboptimal gimmick, or somewhere in between, only time will tell. In any case, the challenge will be finding cards from different classes that actually, uh, synergize, to form a functional deck. I doubt it will be so strong that you can eschew good deckbuilding in favor of just throwing in as many different colored cards as you can legally take. Also keep in mind it's mostly assets you're looking for--the cards need to stay in play to count.

Some important rules notes as I'm sure these questions will come up (good rule of thumb is look for the class icons!):

  • "Neutral" is not a class. So no pip from Backpacks and the like.
  • Your investigator card counts (unless you're Lola Hayes; see above). In other words, you don't benefit from cards of your own class. On the upside, you'll always get at least one bonus pip, making this card an improved Unexpected Courage.
  • Permanents count. So for example if you're a non- with access to Shrewd Analysis, you can get an extra pip on setup, bypassing the risks and costs of having to draw and play a card.
  • Multi-class cards count for all classes printed on them. For example, .45 Thompson counts as both and simultaneously and so will grant up to two icons.

So you can get more value here by using multi-class cards from your off class, where the other class is one you normally don't have access to. For instance, William Yorick could play Enchanted Blade to get to +: one for being a , one for the icon, and one for the icon.

The downside is that you either lose value when you upgrade that card into a single class version, or you're not even eligible to upgrade it which will weaken your deck progression. This might be less of an issue moving forward, as there are leveled multi-class cards in this expansion.

So who should consider this and other Synergy cards? In general, the purebreds wouldn't be interested, and those with only a secondary class would have to use multi-class cards to get beyond a +2. The Dunwich group can take whatever level 0 cards they want, but since space is limited getting those cards into play will be a struggle and would compete with tried and true non-asset options. Those whose deckbuilding options include traits or keywords which appear across many class pools could get good value, but not if the trait is only associated with events/skills.

And then there's Lola Hayes. She's got the disadvantage of being Neutral, but she clearly has the best deckbuilding options for this archetype, and arguably is the best suited for it thematically. I initially thought it still wouldn't be good for her due to her role restriction and the setup required, but knowing the trait will appear in other classes and understanding better how she might build around it, I now believe one of the goals of this cycle is to give our favorite star of the stage a considerable indirect buff.

Lastly it's worth mentioning the combo potential with Teamwork, A Chance Encounter, "You owe me one!", and any other cards that let you borrow from your buds, greatly increasing the value of this and other Synergy cards in multiplayer. Strength in numbers indeed!

Looks better when you consider that Bob Jenkins can hand out items to another investigator, then commit this card to one of their skill tests. — togetic271 · 5
Bob can't take this card. We are all going to make this mistake so many times with all the Edge of the Earth investigators. — MouldOfMlem · 148
Bob can't take it, but one of his friends could, and Bob could give them some Rogue (or multiclass) items! Surely most investigators wouldn't mind a Lucky Cigarette Case. — Zinjanthropus · 231
According to https://arkhamdb.com/rules#Ownership_and_Control you control all the cards in your hand, deck and discard pile. — david6680 · 66
While you're technically correct, the more relevant ruling is that card/game effects generally do not interact with cards that are not in play (cards in your hand, deck, and discard pile are not in play). This is not the first time I've seen this misinterpretation and I'm not sure what the goal of it is other than to find a loophole that would end up breaking all sorts of already well-established basic card interactions if it actually existed. — MiskatonicFrosh · 344
I hate when they don't use consistent terminology. If they only wanted it to interact with cards in play then that is what should have been printed on the card. — david6680 · 66
There's nothing inconsistent about it. Able Bodied uses the same language and there is no confusion over what "control" means on that card, it counts the items in your play area. Nobody thinks Calling in Favors lets you fish an ally asset "you control" from an out of play area and put it in your hand, it has to be in play. Whitton Greene doesn't give you her bonus just because you have a tome/relic somewhere in your deck, it has to be in play. I could go on. Regardless of whatever "control" has to mean in the rules to encompass all abilities and effects, without specifying otherwise, a card ability can only interact with cards in play. There is nothing new or weird about the terminology on synergy cards, again, it's just people making up a nonsense loophole. — MiskatonicFrosh · 344